The New Entrant Program (NEP) 

The policy objective of a New Entrant Program (NEP) is simply to encourage and facilitate people to enter the dairy industry as new producers. The Board’s NEP program provides 15kgs of Continuous Daily Quota (CDQ) as incentive quota to start milk production, plus up to 8kgs of matching CDQ provided on a 1:1 ratio basis during the 10 years of the program.

The NEP Selection Committee (NEPSC)

As per the NEP policy, a Selection Committee was engaged to review the application packages, including proposed business plans of the eight candidates and to interview all candidates before making a recommendation to the Board of the top three candidates, who they consider should be invited to participate in the program. For more information on the New Entrant Program Selection Committee (NEPSC) please see below and for complete details please visit New Entrant Program. Please note, eight candidates were drawn, however only seven chose to continue in the process for 2020-21.

The NEPSC interviewed 7 candidates over a two-day period to identify candidates that showed the potential to have long-term success in dairy farming and required the assistance of the New Entrant Program to enter the dairy industry.

Every candidate was asked questions that allowed the committee to conduct an evaluation of their skills and assessed their abilities for successful long term on farm operations and financial/policy administration. The committee selected three candidates be invited to join the NEP program for the production year 2021;

The Board congratulates the three candidates (alphabetical order), who will now be invited to participate in the NEP program:

  • Katie & Kelvin Lagemaat
  • Breanna & Jerrod Simpson
  • Marlayna Van Hoepen

Next Steps

The selected New Entrants have until July 31, 2020 to formally accept entry into the program and pay to the Board a non-refundable deposit of $1000, which may be used by the entrant when the entrant first participates on the quota exchange. The New Entrants will have until December 31, 2021 to start production, in order to qualify for the program and receive incentive quota from the Board.


NEPSC: The Selection Committee was appointed by the Board and consisted of: two agri-business representatives; one financial services representative; one dairy processing representative; one BC Dairy Association nominated producer; one current Graduated Entrant Producer (GEP); one BCMMB staff member and one Board-appointed Chair. (The Chair and staff member were non-voting participants.) All seven candidates were interviewed by the Selection Committee on July 15 and 16, 2020.